Thursday, 25. April 2024 - Beginning: 7:30 pm

Fifth Concert at the House of Engineers

Piano recital

Martina Filjak, Piano

Works by G. F. Händel, J. S. Bach, R. Schumann and F. Liszt

"Brilliant, sensitive and imaginative playing with technical genius, natural musicality and remarkable individuality. A pianist to keep an eye on."

 This is how the New York Times judged the interpretations of piano virtuoso Martina Filjak, who won first prizes at three of the most important international piano competitions, most recently in Cleveland in 2009. The exceptional pianist, who comes from Croatia and lives in Berlin, cultivates an immense repertoire, gives concerts almost all over the world and speaks seven languages. For her appearance at the Haus der Ingenieure, she has a program in her luggage that not only demonstrates her interpretive versatility, but also allows the Bösendorfer concert grand to shine in a wide variety of styles: The two Baroque giants Bach and Handel are represented with two of their most important works for keyboard instruments, and after the intermission they are juxtaposed with Robert Schumann's second sonata, which not only contains many an astonishing pianistic utopia, but also recalls the greats of the past in its dense counterpoint in places. Finally, the audience is transported to the bel canto wonderland of Italian opera and once again reminded that Bösendorfer created the first instrument that could withstand the extraordinary dynamic demands of virtuoso Franz Liszt at the time.  


Thursday, 25. April 2024 at 7.30 pm

Haus der Ingenieure
Eschenbachgasse 9
A - 1090 Wien

Registration and Tickets:

Regular tickets: €35.-
Students: €18.- (with the code: STUD23 and ID at the box office)

Online Shop:



Bösendorfer Salon
Canovagasse 4
A - 1010 Wien
+43 1 50466516310